You are here


Science is a compulsory core subject for all pupils in Forms 1, 2 and 3. The Junior Certificate syllabus consists of Biology, Chemistry and Physics and assessment is by means of a terminal examination paper and coursework. Science is also compulsory in the Transition Year. Students are taught through a series of six modules during the year - environmental chemistry, human biology, electromagnetism, forensics/sports science, investigative physics and agricultural science.

Most students go on to choose at least one science subject in the Leaving Certificate programme. Those on offer are Biology, Physics, Chemistry, Applied Mathematics and Agricultural Science. The Science Department, one of the largest in the school with nine members (and two student teachers), is based in six laboratories and other classrooms. Outside class, students are involved in various activities - Ploughing Championships, Farm visits, Young Scientist, Sci Fest, Science Olympiad, Ecology field trips, and visits to local colleges/universities.

Science Department

Ciaran Whelan, BSc, HDipEd (NUI), Co-ordinator

Jane Salter, BSc (Hons) (NUI), HDipEd (TCD)

Ciara Gallagher, BA (Mod), HDipEd (TCD)

Niall Mahon, BSc, HDipEd (NUI)

Noel Cunningham, MSc (DCU/QUB), BSc (DCU), HDipEnvEng (UCC), HDipEd (TCD)

David Plummer, BSc (NUI), PGCE(Dunelm)

Ciaran O'Connor, MSc (Hons) (QUB), BSc (Hons) (DCU), PGDE (NUI)

Martin Furey, BSc (Hons) (NUI)

Lynda Jordan

  • King's Hospital Science